Scholarships for Students Entering RTA

Thanks to many generous benefactors and sponsors, the RTA School of Media is able to offer many scholarships, bursaries, and awards to its students. Below is a list of those that are currently available for first year students. Please note some might be program or course specific.

***Apply online using AwardSpring ( The deadline to apply is Friday, October 4th, 2019.


Click on each one for more details.

Phyllis Switzer Memorial Award: To a student entering the first year of the program full time; academic proficiency; proven management and leadership skills in human resources management, through volunteer teamwork / student council work / community involvement; demonstrated financial need and other factors.

Scott Moore Award in Sport Media: RTA Alumnus and Canadian television executive, Scott Moore, has created this award to support students entering the Sport Media program who have a history of involvement with team sports. Preference will be given to students from racialized communities.

Allan Slaight Entrance AwardFor incoming students planning to focus on radio.  Awards will be renewable annually (up to three additional years) based on continued excellence in radio and sound courses.