Thanks to many generous benefactors and sponsors, the RTA School of Media is able to offer many scholarships, bursaries, and awards to its students. Below is a list of those that are currently available for recent graduates. Please note some might be program or course specific.

The deadline to apply is Friday, October 4th, 2019 at 4pm.  Applications can be dropped off in Donna Morrison's mailbox in the Main RTA Office (RCC 104) throughout the summer or upon your return to campus. 



Click on each one for more details.

Arthur Weinthal Award: The award is open to Ontario-resident students who were registered on a full-time basis in the 4th year who have completed Internship Placements and who contributed to the School in curricular or extracurricular activities while demonstrating initiative and enthusiasm.  

Dana Lee B.L.I.S.S. Award:  This award will be given to the practicum student group who either pays it forward or whose project makes a difference in the community or the world at large.  

Ernest O. Swan Memorial Scholarship: For demonstrating the most complete understanding and creative application of technology in the senior audio courses.

Joana Fraser Award: This award is in honour of Joana Fraser, a second year RTA student who died of cancer in April 1994. This award reflects both Joana’s creativity and unflinching determination to face what life dealt her.

Newfoundland Broadcasting Company Limited Award: To the graduating student demonstrating the most proficiency and creativity using significant content through the TV media.

Phyllis Switzer/CTV Broadcast Management Award: This endowed award has been established by the CTV Television Network to recognize a graduating student or a student who has recently graduated from the RTA School of Media who wishes to pursue graduate level studies.

Spencer Caldwell Memorial Scholarship: To a graduating RTA student demonstrating “entrepreneurial spirit” and activity in some aspect of broadcasting. Candidates for this scholarship should have been operating a business or service for enough time to have a client base. The business/service should be a true demonstration of your entrepreneurial skills. It cannot be part of a school project.

The RTA Sport Media You Can Play Award: This scholarship was established by the RTA Sport Media Program Director, Joe Recupero, in honour and recognition of organizations like “You Can Play” which works to create awareness around equity, diversity and inclusion in sport.  This award will recognize the best creative work (written feature, video or audio or digital media production) produced by a Sport Media student(s) that focuses on and helps to create awareness around LGBTQ2 stories in sport and society.  Group submissions will be limited to 5 award recipients. 

William Harding Memorial Award (Presented by Domino Theatre Incorporated): To the advanced media writing student who demonstrated outstanding ability in the writing of dramatic dialogue within the context of a film or TV script.